Sin and virtue

The seven deadly sins and seven divine virtues are concepts originating in the Triregnist religion, but have since spread throughout the races and been adopted as popular motives. They are a guide as to how good people should behave, though there is argument as to if one should seek balance, or one should live in virtue and deny sin.

Seven deadly sins

While there is much argument about which virtues belong in the list, the sins are very well defined, having only two main iterations. The original seven sins are Pride, Greed, Lust, Envy, Gluttony, Wrath and Sloth. This model is still heavily used, but there has also appeared a new model. In the new model Pride and Envy have been folded together into Vainglory and Gluttony has been absorbed into Greed. Instead two new sins have been added. The new seven sins are Greed, Lust, Wrath, Sloth, Vainglory, Deceitfulness and Melancholy.

Seven divine virtues

The seven divine virtues, also sometimes called the seven heavenly virtues, are a combination of many virtues and can wildly differ in composition. While the original seven are not known for sure, they are thought to be Diligence, Humility, Temperance, Charity, Kindness, Forgiveness and either Chastity or Purity. Charity and Temperance are the only two that are present in every iteration. Another popular iteration of the virtues is Charity, Temperance, Prudence, Faith, Hope, Fortitude and Justice. Other virtues that are sometimes included are Courage, Wisdom, Generosity, Valor, Honor, Honesty and Piety.


Karma is the domain of Rhamnesis and other revenge and justice deities. Karma is a powerful concept of everyone getting what is due to them. A good person shall receive good things, a bad person shall receive bad things. If one does not reach a balance during life, then all karma will be served to them in death. Even gods are not immune to this force, which is why Rhamnesis, as Karma’s creator, is also sometimes called the God’s Nemesis.

Gold standard

The Gold Standard is an economical concept that most nations have agreed too. It ties the relative value of many things, like magical items, currencies, gemstones, precious metals, slaves and ransoms to the value of Gold. This allows the nations that have agreed to the Gold Standard to trade more easily with each other.

The elements of nature

The elements of nature are the four main elements that exist in the world we live in. The four main elements are Earth, Water, Air and Fire. Though some scholars rather refer to them as Solid, Liquid, Gas and Plasma respectively.

Light and darkness

Light and Darkness, also called the lesser elements; greater elements; or elements beyond nature, are two elements that are considered both part of and outside the elements of nature. Some people also relate them to Good and Evil. Some scholars refer to Light as Energy, while referring to Darkness as Vacuum, Nothingness or Anti-matter.

The fifth element

The fifth element is a collective name for all elements that are added to the main four by some cultures. These cultures will often place these elements on equal footing with the original four. Some examples of fifth elements are Metal; Wood; Magic; Electricity or Lightning; Plague; Heat or Warmth; Cold or Frost; and Life.

The humors

The Humors, also called the bodily components, refers to a group of bodily fluids that are together thought to form a being. Keeping ones humors in balance is thought to be very important, as an imbalance between the humors is thought to lead to many illnesses. Humors are also thought to contain power and some people are dedicated to collecting the humors of gods, dragons and other powerful beings for use in spells and enchantments.

The greater humors

The Greater humors are the main four humors of the body, and any imbalance between these four will result in serious affliction. They are also the most powerful when collected. They are linked with the four main Elements of Nature, giving them extra power. The four are Blood, Phlegm, Black Bile and Yellow Bile. Blood is linked with Air, Phlegm with Water, Black Bile with Earth and Yellow Bile with Fire. Blood can be collected from wounds, Phlegm from snot, Yellow Bile from urine and Black Bile from excrement.

The lesser humors

The Lesser Humors are of less importance then the main four, but can still lead to problems when out of balance. Specific lesser humors might also be necessary for certain spells or enchantments. There are five or six depending on how one counts. The four everybody has are Tears, Wax, Sweat and Saliva. The fith and sixth (or simply fifth as they are sometimes seen as the same thing) are Seed and Discharge. Seed is only found in males and Discharge only found in females. Seed and Discharge are sometimes together referred to as Milk. Milk is also used for the special humor that only occurs in female mammals.


Sentience is a display of a certain type of intelligence in a species. A species that is considered to have sentience is called a sentient species. All individuals belonging to a sentient species can call themselves sentients. Sentients have rights that other animals do not have. While killing animals is allowed in almost all places, killing a sentient is outlawed in many of those places.