Tegai knows many governing bodies. From monarchies to republics, both theocratic and secular.

Government of Zilverrijk

Zilverrijk is a kingdom whose lords enjoy a great amount of freedom. This leads to many rivalries and political plays. House Viets has been in charge for almost its entire history, and the rule is that a king or queen must always be a human of that family. This however does not mean that those of side branches or younger princes don’t try to grab the throne from the designated heir. Also, the rule of being human does not extend to the powerful lords, and some of the most powerful nobles in the country are not human themselves.

Government of Thunder Island

Thunder Island is officially a kingdom lead by one king, but in practice is a split kingdom with three autonomous regions each lead by an archduke. The archduke of Goneril is also the king of Thunder Island, but the archdukes of Hermes and Albeit are in practice just as powerful as the king. This means all decisions concerning Thunder Island as a whole is decided by a simple majority vote between the three archdukes.

Government of El-Quam

The Sultanate of El-Quam is situated on top of a floating island. It is an absolute monarchy with a special connection to the sun. The royal family claims to be descendents of the sun herself.

Government of the Lands of the Moon

The Lands of the Moon are one of the three biggest powers in the Brineinan Union. Unlike the other two, Anglos and Sconia, the Lands of the Moon are not an hereditary monarchy. The Lands of the Moon are a complicated patchwork of vassal republics, duchies, counties and free cities that answer to an elected monarch. All leaders, nobles and special citizens of the Lands of the Moon get a vote in the election of the monarch who then serves for life. All members of house Moon are automatically selected as the candidates for the next monarch. Great factions form around these candidates as supporting the next monarch early gives huge benefits to the electors. The Lands of the Moon are currently in an election cycle as King David Moon III recently succumbed to mantis swelling.

Government of the Latsian Empire

The Latsian Empire is the biggest human nation in both area and population. It is a vast sprawling empire of provinces, special cities, vassal kingdoms and outer territories. The empire is lead by the Emperor and his two consuls. The empire also has a senate who can discuss laws before implementation, a plebeian council who has a veto in some areas like agriculture and minor roles like Praetor, Quaestor and Governor. There are also the four Aediles who are responsible for making sure all religious and secular holidays are celebrated on the appropriate days. The leader of all religious matters is the Pontifex Maximus.

Government of Pirate Hub

The Pirate Hub is a collection of pirate fleets that took over an island and peninsula from Ippo on the most Northeastern part of Tegai. The pirates have shown to be surprisingly resilient against the Ipponese attempts to dislodge them and at this point the nations of the world have just accepted that the pirates exist. The pirates operate in a semi-democratic way. Each pirate ship selects their own captain who then becomes the absolute ruler of their ship. From among the captains, seven are chosen to become pirate lords by the other captains. A pirate lord solves disputes and automatically leads raids if they get involved. The seven pirate lords select a pirate king. The pirate king is in charge of the treasury and to settle disputes between pirate lords in the Pirate Hub and not much else. Becoming a captain does not mean you can just do what you want, as any pirate on the ship can start a mutiny vote. If this mutiny gets more then half the votes, the old captain is marooned, if the mutiny vote fails, the one who started the vote is marooned instead.