Maatism, or the Gods of the Natural Order, is the official religion of Guptha. To the Gupthans, Maat is the great natural order that keeps our reality from crumbling. The gods protect Maat and mortals protect the gods with offering and worship. Every God has a male and female form that are linked through their Ka. Ka is what Maatists believe is the source of all power and lives in each of us. Some believers think the two forms are one god switching genders, others think it is two distinct gods that represent the same concept.

Shiftu and Arantu

Shiftu and Arantu are the god and goddess representing the Sun. They are the kings of the heavens and it is their glory that gives legitimacy to the Pharaoh of Guptha. Most Pharaohs will proclaim some form of kinship with one of these gods. The three most common being the claim they were conceived by Shiftu, that their mother is the daughter of Arantu, Nepnep, or that they are the brother of the son of Shiftu, Tar, though by a different father. They have the symbol of the Eagle.

Tar and Erat

Tar and Erat are the god and goddess representing the fertile earth. They were named the first Pharaoh of Guptha by Ruswer, but gave this title to mortal rulers so they could fight the Chaos gods Kertha and Semet. They are said to be the great protectors of Maat. Tar and Erat are the children of Shiftu and Arantu. They have the symbol of the Falcon.

Kertha and Semet

Kertha and Semet are the god and goddess representing chaos, sand and the desert. They are the siblings of the great sun gods Shiftu and Arantu and the children of Osim and Ilyon. They are said to live in foreign lands and make foreign kings to battle the Pharaoh that represents the power of Tar and Erat. Kertha murdered Osim out of jealousy of his glory, but Osim was put back together by Tar. Erat then expelled Kertha and Semet for this treachery. They have the symbol of the Wolf.

Osim and Ilyon

Osim and Ilyon are the great god and goddess representing the afterlife. Osim was once the king of Tegai before Kertha murdered him. After Erat defeated Kertha, Tar and Ilyon put Osim back together. Osim and Ilyon became the kings of the underworld after this. It is said that Ilyon made the great rivers with her mourning tears. They have the symbol of the Raven.

Anu and Tebis

Anu and Tebis are the great god and goddess representing burial, death and history. Anu is the son of Semet. When Tar had to put Osim back together he did so by learning the practice of mummification from the great daughter of Semet, Tebis. After Osim was put back together, Anu took him and Ilyon down to the underworld and pledged his loyalty and service to them in a ritual that is still celebrated each year by the Gupthans. They have the symbol of the Jackal.

Soken and Teretha

Soken and Teretha were the first beings to reach the underworld and sit at the gate. They are the god and goddess representing justice. They judge the worthiness of the deceased by weighing their heart against the feather of truth. If Teretha judges the heart to be heavier than the feather, Soken will consume the dead one and make them into a new being. If the heart is lighter then the feather, the dead one will be given to Osim and Ilyon to serve them in the afterlife. They have the symbol of the Crocodile.

Harem and Tori

Harem and Tori are the god and goddess representing birth, health, life and prosperity. They are seen as the most important gods to receive offerings as they have the greatest influence on a person's life. Their festival is celebrated every 15th day of a month. Tori is said to have made Ilyon give birth to Semet, which made Semet the first being to be born in the proper way. They have the symbol of the Bull and Cow.

Mot and Sahmra

Mot and Sahmra are the god and goddess of war and plague. It is said that when Sahmra was born from Shiftu, she went so mad that she killed seventy percent of the world. The only way to preserve Maat was to get her so drunk she passed out, then take half her power to form Aponus who still attempts to kill Shiftu every night. Mot was depicted as the winner of the first war between Guptha and the outside world. They have the symbol of the Lion.

Aponus and Ti

Aponus and Ti are the god and goddess of the night. They are very mysterious and there is little known about them. Aponus is the son of Sahmra and hates how he was born. Each night he attempts to destroy Shiftu and the sun so that the whole world may die with him. They have the symbol of the snake.

Erta and Net

Erta and Net are the god and goddess of water and creation. They are rarely mentioned, but when they are they are unbelievably powerful. They have the symbol of the Scorpion.

Toratus and Karis

Toratus and Karis are the god and goddess of scribes and wisdom. They go into the foreign lands to make kings that support the Pharaoh against the kings of Semet and Kertha. Toratus also provides visions of wisdom to the Pharaoh in times of need. They have the symbol of the Baboon.

Sahut and Nanut

Sahut and Nanut are the god and goddess of the sky, clouds and stars. Nanut and Sahut were the first gods to discover Maat and used it to create Tegai and four gods to help it survive. These gods were Osim, Ilyon, Harem and Tori. Sahut than advised Osim and Ilyon till Osim’s death at the hands of Kertha. Nanut, who created the stars and clouds went mad with grief and attempted to destroy Tegai in revenge by bringing down the sky onto the world Sahut made Toratus and Karis to take over his role as adviser and then caught the sky onto his shoulders, keeping it up to protect the world. They have the symbol of the Ostrich.

Ruswer and Nepnep

Ruswer and Nepnep are the god and goddess of Light and Festivities. They are the children of Arantu and Nepnep is often claimed as the mother of Pharaohs. Nepnep is the inventor of festivals and as such is usually invoked at the start of every festival, even the ones that are not in her honor. When Osim died, Ruswer was offered the throne of Tegai. Ruswer refused and decided that there could not be one king forever. He created the position of Pharaoh and made it so that each Pharaoh, even though they are born divine, has to live a mortal life. He made Tar and Erat the first Pharaohs so they could infuse the titles with their power before mortalkind took over.